Injury + daily practice question

Home Page Forums Rock Class 101 Ukulele Lessons Injury + daily practice question

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    ukeduke
    Participant

Four-month newbie here. I played 4-5 hours a day, every day in the last month and injured my left thumb. It only hurts when I press it hard against the back of the uke’s neck (for barre chords). For anyone else that’s experienced this, what’s the best way to heal other than dropping the uke temporarily to recover?

Second question: I hear some uke professionals say that their skills diminish unless they practice *every day* — for those of you that have been playing actively 3+ years, is this your experience as well? (if so, that must be an inconvenience for pro uke players that look to take a break!)

• This topic was modified 3 months, 2 weeks ago by ukeduke.
    Andrew
    Keymaster

It’s hard to comment on the first question as I’ve never seen you play. If I had to guess, I’d say the pain is caused by a form issue or pressing too hard.

Try to take a break until the pain resides. Then, can you post a video playing? I’d be happy to check the above.

For the second question, time isn’t as important as what you are doing with your time. Our first lesson on day 1 of music college was how to practice. Check out that article, it shares exactly what was taught to us.

But to give you a direct answer, playing is the same as using a muscle for sport. If you don’t use it for awhile, you will have to work at getting your chops back. Taking a day off won’t effect you, it would have to be a prolonged break.

wannabgood
    Participant

Hey Ukeduke,