Hi, from Sydney, Australia

Home Page Forums Introduce Yourself Hi, from Sydney, Australia

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    miztaken
    Participant

Hi Everyone,
    I have been playing for just over three years now, husband started me off with lessons (he is a guitarist of 43 years experience) so has been a real bonus. But I have felt limited this year with my playing, especially since husband bought me a Deering Goodtime banjolele for christmas – my picking is too limited to make that beauty sound as good as it should.
    I can strum – like a guitarist, I can teach myself how to play along to new songs, I can work out (some) rhythms – but when I saw the beautiful sound that Andrew makes, and his teaching technique, I knew this is what I wanted to achieve.
    And now I feel like I am at the beginning of my learning curve again (there is a lot of swearing involved!). And it is hard, but awesome.
    Miztaken.

Andrew
    Keymaster

Welcome Miztaken! Thanks for the kind words and enjoy the new learning journey 🙂 I’m here if you need help.

lyndallk
    Participant

Hi Miztaken
    I’m also in Sydney! I enjoy Andrew’s site and have learned a lot – although not been active for a while – just starting up again.

Are you in a uke club? I find it really fun and helpful. I try and either lead a strum along or perform most months. Learned a lot that way. I also say – hi from Sydney.

Lyndall

miztaken
    Participant

Hi Lyndall! Nice to meet a neighbour!
    I go to a Sunday uke gathering at a local pub, but I really do not enjoy it much.
    I joined to “out myself” – play socially, but the one strum / sing-a-long at the top of your voice just frustrates me. NOT everyone should sing – and I am definitely one of those who SHOULD NOT sing… ever!