New member Linda from charleston

Home Page Forums Introduce Yourself New member Linda from charleston

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    ldarrow
    Participant

Hello all, I just began to learn in October. Am loving it so far. I have a uke question. The uke that was gifted to me back in October is beautiful has a mellow warm sound that I love. I discovered a hairline crack in the wood (you have to look very closely to see it). The sound does not seem to be affected, but I worry what will happen over the long haul as I plan to continue to learn. Thus, I returned it for anew one, same brand, same model. The new one’s sound is not as warm and mellow, so I am disappointed. My question is, do Ukes get more mellow as you play. I had been playing the Rotherham daily for 3 months and really can not say how it sounded on day 1. Is it possible that it is just new strings needing to be worked in? I am hoping the replacement will eventually sound like the original. What are your opinions?

robinboyd
    Participant

Hi Linda,

Here are my thoughts:

Do Ukes get more mellow as you play? – Some people say they do and some people say they don’t I don’t really know.

Is it possible that it is just new strings needing to be worked in? – That’s possible, but that should happen in a week or 2, particularly if you are playing every day.

Also, there can be a lot of variation in instruments of the same model. It could also be that you got a dud. I really don’t know, though.

ldarrow
    Participant

Thank you, the replacement does not sound bad, so I don’t think it’s a dud, it is just not as pleasing as the other to me. I just got the replacement today and am comparing it to one that i’ve Been playing for a couple of months. Am hoping it may just be strings that need to be worked in. My husband can not hear the difference, but I can. Thanks for your reply.

robinboyd
    Participant