Hello from Wisconsin

Home Page Forums Introduce Yourself Hello from Wisconsin

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    reneemur
    Participant

I’m really new at this. I’ve been on this site for almost a year now, and I don’t know how all this works, but I’m enjoying all the songs and the lessons to learn to play them. My problem is: I want to play them all now! I’ve been practicing, but I think I’m going about it wrong. there’s so much to choose from here, that I don’t know what to start with. I’ve played guitar for years, but never the ukulele. It’s different. I’ve learned some songs, but none of them well, because I think I’m practicing too many at once. It’s overwhelming, ha, ha. I can’t wait until I play them all. Thanks for this site and the opportunity to be overwhelmed. I like the way you take your students through the lessons, and I’m trying to slow down a bit when I practice. I want to play it not sing to it.

kanae926
    Participant

Hey, @reneemur! There really is a lot of great content on RC101, so I get what you mean by being overwhelmed. Have you checked out the Learning Paths? It will guide you with where to start and give you direction on where to go depending on your (approximate) level.

What’s really helped me is participating in the monthly challenges – it helps you focus on a song until you’ve learned it. And once you post it in the forum, Andrew provides feedback on what you did well or could improve on. That alone has helped me tremendously in my learning. Also…it’s really fun. This community is super supportive and there’s a lot to take away from watching others participate (and reading the feedback they receive), too.

I hope to see you participate in a challenge soon!

–Kanni

Andrew
    Keymaster

Kanni is spot on! Start w/ Learning Paths. I’d recommend creating a practice schedule that is 3 parts, for example: