How To Work with a Metronome

Home Page Forums Rock Class 101 Ukulele Lessons How To Work with a Metronome

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    betsy_manning
    Participant

Hello Andrew and all,

I realized today that working with a metronome is a real challenge for me.

I know how fundamental this is! I suppose it’s like explaining how to do ABC and 123. 🙁

But as a metronome novice, it’s really difficult and confusing. I get really flustered and not sure where notes should fall.

Is there a tutorial for this for absolute beginners?

I understand basic music theory: note lengths, rests, etc, but how to translate that into correctly timed notes is the difficult part.

Thanks so much!

Andrew
    Keymaster

Hi Betsy, what you want to do is count and handclap rhythms alongside the metronome. This should always be done before playing, as it helps ingrain the rhythm. Our beginner lesson, which teaches this method and explains rhythms, can be found here.

In the video tutorial (at 13:34 into it), I use this method to work through all 11 exercises with you. I would recommend doing it with me, and then trying it on your own with the on-screen tab viewer, with the metronome activated. Count and clap, and when you feel comfortable with that, count and play the rhythm (which is only the open A string) on ukulele.

The above lesson is a great start, but if you really want to develop rhythm and timing, the best way is by learning to read notation.

betsy_manning
    Participant

Thank you, Andrew. I will do that!
    I’m familiar with notation; I understand what the symbols mean, but I don’t know how to play them in time with a metronome.

Cheers!

Andrew
    Keymaster

My pleasure! And yes, I understand what you are saying. Give that lesson a go, and if you need extra help, I’d recommend a Skype lesson with Stephen. He’ll be able to clear any confusion you may have.

betsy_manning
    Participant

Hi Andrew,