My first gig!

Home Page Forums Uke Talk My first gig!

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    lisadmh
    Participant

I did it!

I played at our office holiday party. I had a set list of 14 songs- 12 RC101 and 2 originals. I made mistakes, but not all of them were noticeable. For example, I played an extra half theme of Red is the Rose because I screwed up a transition, but nobody there would notice.

Everyone chatted all the way through, and there were about 20 people there, so I wasn’t even sure if my little acoustic soprano was audible. I could barely hear it. But after they said it was plenty loud. I said great,so you could hear my mistakes. They said we didn’t hear ant mistakes. They seemed to quite enjoy it. Yay!

I said I was a beginner and they said no, you’re NOT a beginner. Woohoo! Rock class makes us sound so good. 😁😁😁

What a high!

miztaken
    Participant

You are amazing!!!
    Well done.

You must have done extraordinarily well – people usually find some way to find fault “constructively”.
    Be rightfully proud of yourself, for a huge step in your playing and performing.

lisadmh
    Participant

Thanks miztaken! I certainly didn’t do perfectly but I think it was good enough.

One of my fans requested AC/DC. So I’m checking out the video for Thunderstruck and nope, I’m not requesting that of Andrew. Jeeez, level 20 for sure. I’m appreciation some songs in a different way these days.

zukulele

Great job lisadmh!

mheiden
    Participant

Really cool Lisa! What was on your set list?
    Did you bring the music or had you memorized everything?

Andrew
    Keymaster

Congrats! Please say there’s video!!

lisadmh
    Participant

I left the set list at work but I’ll type it out tomorrow. I had everything memorized. I had my tablet there just in case I totally froze but I didn’t even open it. I was impressed when I went through and listed what I can actually play. They’re piling up!