What do you folks recommend?

Home Page Forums Discuss Your Gear What do you folks recommend?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    imgoingtouke

I’ve been playing obsessively for about 15 months now. I have a Kala Soprano Ukulele and love it, but I’ve noticed that on this site you really need a Concert Uke. What do you guys recommend?

Andrew
    Keymaster

Time to start the collection 🙂 But seriously, I enjoy having the extra frets to work with on a concert and tenor.

kayleighb

Ah I had this problem too. My fiancè has ordered me an Ohana CK35G Concert Ukulele All Solid Mahogany for Christmas. I spent a couple months researching and finally settled on this one. Its being delivered tomorrow and painstakingly he won’t let me have it until christmas day 😣

ser_ser

thats great Kay

rickeymike
    Participant

I became a member in July and play a soprano. I’ve never had a problem with the songs or lessons. I don’t see where this site is geared to a larger ukulele. You should do just fine with a soprano.

kayleighb

It’s here……I was allowed one tiny play on it and it’s so much better than the ‘toy’ one I have. Feels alot bigger too so I’ll need to find a comfy position to play in.

Rickey there are a few songs that go beyond the 12 frets e.g. pachebel which I really want to learn (one day) so thats where having a larger uke will come in handy 😊

rickeymike
    Participant

I’m sure you are correct Kay. As a beginner, I’ve just never came across that problem yet. Ha. BTW, I tried searching for the song “pachebel” but I couldn’t find it.

Andrew
    Keymaster

Here is the lesson, Rickey: Canon in D.

kayleighb

Ah sorry Rickey. Pachelbel is the composer of the original piece. I grew up listening to it so it’s one I want to learn as soon as I’m more confident in playing 😊

rickeymike
    Participant