Are there "intermediate ukuleles" out there?

Home Page Forums Discuss Your Gear Are there "intermediate ukuleles" out there?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Gaby
    Participant

I have a bit of a stupid/weird question but I’ll try to discribe it as best as I can.

Im thinking about getting a new soprano Ukulele soon. (I really would like a pineapple one, so if someone could recomment one – i’m open for suggestions :D).

So naturally i’m looking around the internet, reading reviews and so on. I was thinking about spending about 100€/$ – maybe a bit less or more. I’m not quite sure how i would describe myself as a Ukulele player. I’m not a beginner anymore I think, but I’m not a pro either.. So maybe intermediate. i dont know. but of course I want to get a nice Ukulele.

So now for the problem/question: as I read through the reviews people often wrote things like “this is a very good beginner Ukulele”. They say that about instruments for about 40$ as much as about instruments for 100$ and all them in between. I have come to the conclusion, that (if you listen to the Internet) there are only two categories of ukuleles – the ones for beginners and the ones for the professionels that start at a price of a couple of 100$. (And of course the bad ones)

I know of course, that everyone (beginner or not) can play on a “good for beginners” Ukulele and be very happy with that (because i do it too 🙂 ) and i wouldnt mind getting myself another one of those. I’m just wondering, aren’t there any ukuleles with the label “good for the intermediate player” out there? Or would it just not make any difference at all..?

I guess im just confused, because isnt any good Ukulele good for beginners ?..so ehy even mention it, if the ukulele is actually good? I think its odd that this is the one thing nearly all reviews have in common, the half good ones and the really good ones too.

I hope some of you know what i mean 🙂