Artificial (Tapped) Harmonics

Home Page Forums Rock Class 101 Ukulele Lessons Artificial (Tapped) Harmonics

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    rockmyuke
    Participant

I have begun to learn Mr. Sandman and find I am having a really difficult time with the tapped harmonics. I am not a beginner and I do understand the concept and technique, but producing the harmonics has been frustrating, especially in comparison to the clear ringing bell-like sound you produce. I’m certainly willing to take responsibility for the weak sound, but is some of my difficulty due to the instrument itself? My strings are new so I don’t think that is the problem, and when I brought the instrument to a tech to see if the action should be lowered, I was told the action was just fine. HELP!

Andrew
    Keymaster

As Dennis said, this technique is used in our arrangement for Mr. Sandman. Here is a short video to help you out, ignore the first few seconds, as they’re quite silly. Let me know if you have any questions 🙂

mayaqatsi
    Participant

Hi Andrew,

I’m also struggling with getting the artificial harmonics to ring out clear and loud…I do get some semblance of harmonics-sounding like something, but it’s all a bit soft and muted and nowhere close to the clear popping sound you get. I’m tapping in a way so that I don’t hit the frets, but even so the impact of my taps are louder than anything else. What am I doing wrong?? (THANKS for the awesome lessons!)

Andrew
    Keymaster

Hi Maya, here is a video explaining the attack. And watching back I realize tapping on my computer wasn’t the greatest analogy, lol. Let me know if you have questions.

charlene
    Participant

I’ve been working on Mr. Sandman for weeks and am still having trouble with the harmonics. The sound doesn’t project the way it does when Andrew plays them. Can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong? Advice would be much appreciated.

Andrew
    Keymaster