Five Foot Two, Eyes of Blue

Home Page Forums Rock Class 101 Ukulele Lessons Five Foot Two, Eyes of Blue

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    holly1

Just finished the strumming course, and really enjoyed learning the cool new ways to add some flare to strumming. I was super excited to reach the end and get to Five Foot Two to showcase my new strums. But curse my small hands! My pinky just can’t stretch that far. In measure 3, I could maybe just barely fake it, but when I reached measure 21… forget about it. No way that one is gonna make it. I’m on my concert ukulele, but I don’t think a soprano will help much. Maybe another strumming song will come along where I can try again.

But thanks for the course!! Loved it. : )

Holly

holly1

I pulled out my daughter’s little soprano. I’m not giving up yet! LOL.

recdog
    Participant

Hi Holly,
    When I studied classical guitar way back in high school I had a teacher with much smaller hands than mine. I have really long fingers. My teacher could execute stretches that I could not at that time. Those stretches that seem out of reach may become very possible with time.
    Ron

Andrew
    Keymaster

Glad to hear you enjoyed it! Feel free to post a video and I’ll be happy to take a look to see if there’s any suggestion I can make to help with the stretches 🙂

holly1

Thanks Andrew, I will give it some time using the soprano ukulele and see if I can come up with something close. I need to crochet a strap for the neck first so the darn thing doesn’t slip away from me! LOL!

And Ron, I hope you are right!

• This reply was modified 4 years, 8 months ago by holly1.
    becky7777
    Participant

Thank you Holly. You pointed out I can probably crochet a strap pretty quick. I’ve been taking my strap off and moving it as needed. 😫 (I want to tablet weave one at some point though.)

If you’re still having issues make a video that’s the #1 Fastest easiest way to get help.