Holding the ukuklele right

Home Page Forums Rock Class 101 Ukulele Lessons Holding the ukuklele right

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    smokealot
    Participant

Hi,

I have been searching this forum and other pages for a while, been looking at people playing but still am kind of lost.

A short introduction: I have been playing for two years on and off now but signed up for premium membership a month ago because I really like that instrument and was so convinced of this site (and still am). I already learned “für elise” (thats how I found this page) before I signed up but did the beginners course just to make sure. During that it became quite clear to me that I am very limited in my playing because I am holding the uku in a very awkward way. And after going through all the lessons that cover that topic I am still lost.

So finally the question: could you give me more detailed instruction on that topic?
    I struggle moving from form 1 to form 2 (especially barre cords). When I do that I lose control and the uku kind of falls out of my left hand so that changes sound very unclean.
    So I ended up holding it like a classical guitar which obviously limits my strumming.

I guess I could just get a strap but really want to learn it without it.
    Another thought I have is if a bigger (soprano atm) uku would be easier to hold?

I’d be really grateful for any tips.
    (Hope this was understandable – I’m from Germany)

Cheers!

miztaken
    Participant

Hi @smokealot – you have the choice of struggling with learning to hold the uke and play it too.
    Or: get a strap and you only have to learn to play it.
    What is your priority? Playing beautiful music, or holding the uke “right”?