My Originals

Home Page Forums Showcase Your Playing My Originals

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    lisadmh
    Participant

The_bumble_bard asked me to record my originals, so here they are. Now, you will enjoy both the composition errors and the playing errors all together. Lol. I have no technical knowledge. I just mess around until something comes out. I look up chords online and write it out on Guitar Pro for help with timing. Most are based on very simple chord progressions.

A Grain of Sand. Simple, but it quite pleases me.

Salt, sand, and… Even simpler, but written on a Cuban beach with no internet access to help.

Now and Then. This is an older one dedicated to my cat, who is friends with the other cat now and then.

Parking Lot. This is my newest one, also written on a Cuban beach without support. There are timing problems with it but I don’t care because I like it. It was built using the chords from People are Strange on this site.

A Beautiful Life. This one was my first ever and it is technically terrible, but I don’t care. It has a place in my heart. I wrote it for and with my sweet kitty cat who was dying. She had a beautiful life.

Inspired tonight. This was a monthly challenge, to write something based on something else. It’s based on Wonderful Tonight from this site.

Thanks for the challenge of recording them, Bumble! That was fun.

The_Bumble_Bard
    Participant

@lisadmh, these are all so good!! Thank you for taking the time to record and share all of these. Each one is fantastic in its own way.

Hopefully this reaction doesn’t get too ramble-y, but it probably will. πŸ˜‚ These are just my thoughts as a fellow learner:

I really appreciate that two of them are dedicated to your cats. I feel like there is an uncanny overlap between cat people and ukulele players. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…