No Progress

Home Page Forums Uke Talk No Progress

Tagged: ,

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ellbo99

Hi,

I’ve been playing ukulele for a few years and I’m a fairly decent player. The problem is I feel like I’ve been a decent player for a long time now and haven’t developed much. Nothing I do seems to take me to the next level. I guess you’d say I’m in a bit of an intermediate slump.

I can fingerpick pretty well, strum complex patterns but I’m a long way from Andrew’s level of playing.

So I guess the question is how do I move on from here? I’ve tried all the usual advice and what I’m really after is someone who has been there and done that to give me a steer.

Thanks for the help!

Andrew
    Keymaster

This is a great question Dave. Hitting a plateau is something that we all have felt at one or more points in our playing careers. But, I can tell you there is a way to rise above it.

So before we get into that, I have a few questions for you.

1) You said you have tried all the usual advice. What does that entail?

2) What are your goals? What do you want to be able to do? (Dig deep – let me know specifics)

3) What is your practice routine like? What do you do?

ellbo99

Hi Andrew, thanks for your post. To answer your questions…

Things I’ve tried
    Very specific practice routines that focus on areas of weakness (picking techniques, transitions between difficult chord shapes etc)

Taking a song based approach and working on the sections that I struggle with.

Trying to work on playing by ear.

Mixing up the kind of music I play.

Developing knowledge of music theory.

My Goals
    I’m starting generic but will get more specific. I’d like to be a much more well rounded player generally.

When strumming through a progression I’d like my strumming have more embellishments that make it sound much more interesting.