Questions about major/minor scales and major/minor chords

Home Page Forums Rock Class 101 Ukulele Lessons Questions about major/minor scales and major/minor chords

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    qiuyan
    Participant

Hi Andrew,

I’m following the music theory course in rockclass101 on and off for a while, but as a total noob to music theory, I am confused with major/minor scales and major/minor chords…

1) The lesson says “chord formulas are derived from the parent major scale formula”. Does it mean that e.g. for an A chord, regardless whether it’s major chord or minor chord or even other chord formulas like diminished or dominant etc., the 1/3/5 or 1/3b/5 etc. is always referring to the notes in A major scale, which is A / B / C# / D / E / F# / G# / A ? If so, then what’s the use of minor scale? Is minor scale related to chords in any way?

2) When we say some songs are in for example D major or E minor, is this major/minor referring to the scale or chord or something else? I’m assuming it means major/minor scale (or key? is it the same thing as scale?). Then does it mean that all (or most of) the notes in the melody line of that song should be using the 7 available notes in that scale? Or, does it mean that even the notes used in the chords of that song should be the 7 available notes in that scale?

3) If I just grab a song, how do I know which key/scale it is using? Can I change it from major key/scale to minor key/scale or a something different? For example, C major scale is C / D / E / F / G / A / B, and C minor scale is C / D / Eb / F / G / Ab / Bb, so do I just switch the melody notes as E->Eb, A->Ab, B->Bb and keep the rest the same? How about the chords then? For example, C chord is C/E/G (G-C-E-C on ukulele), and when I change the song from major to minor, is that still C/E/G or would it be C/Eb/G ?