Give Up?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

I’ve been playing for 6 months and a member here for two. I’ve learned 4 level one songs and feel like I’m getting better with each one. I started “I’m Yours” 2 days ago and CANNOT get it. Even the rhythm for the intro sounds wrong when I play it. I slow it down, play it over and over. It sounds chunky and like a train when I do it. I watched extra videos. Nothing has been this difficult before. Moving ahead makes me want to punch myself it sounds so bad. It’s frustrating.

When you get stuck do you move on to another song or keep beating away at it until it happens? I feel like if something doesn’t change, I’m just making a habit of doing it wrong. Thoughts?

charlene
    Participant

Send a video of you playing this song to Andrew, and he will evaluate it and make suggestions as to how to improve it. I would stop playing the song until you hear from him because once it’s hard wired into your brain incorrectly, it will be much more difficult to correct it. Hope this helps. Don’t get discouraged.

Andrew
    Keymaster

Don’t give up! Post a video here, happy to help!

lisadmh
    Participant

I can fumble my way through level 2 and sometimes level 3 songs, but I can’t get anywhere at all with I’m yours and I’ve been playing for over a year and a half. I think it’s quite a bit harder than it claims to be.

Maybe try another song a bit and see if you can get it going a bit easier? No point in sticking so hard work one song that’s not working and getting discouraged with the uke overall.

Thanks Andrew (and Charlene and Lisa),

I recorded this with slides at first and then just rhythm, so you can see the problem.

Andrew
    Keymaster

So your rhythm and timing sounds fine when just strumming. But adding the melody, that’s where things get challenging.

1) You are trying to add melody at same tempo you can strum at, but you are not there yet. Slow it down, and work on adding it in.