Happy New Year from Lexington, Kentucky

Home Page Forums Introduce Yourself Happy New Year from Lexington, Kentucky

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    tonydismukes

Little bit of background on myself …

I started playing music with my first guitar 35 years ago. I was by the standards of most: tone-deaf, arrhythmic, uncoordinated, undisciplined, and completely clueless as to the essential elements of music. On the plus side, I had plenty of enthusiasm and my ear was untrained enough that I couldn’t tell how atrociously bad my playing and singing was. If I had known, that would probably have discouraged me from continuing. By the time my ear had improved enough so I could start to hear some of my faults, I had spent enough years at it that I wasn’t about to quit.

Over time I got to be an adequate amateur musician. I played bass in a band which played semi-regular gigs for a while and sometimes got paid for it. (You can find one of our old albums on YouTube if you’re interested – search for Low-Tech Riff Raff. I don’t know who posted the tracks, it wasn’t us. There’s also a music video that we did post.)