Moon River

Home Page Forums Showcase Your Playing Moon River

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    kirpuff
    Participant

I used to be a background pianist for hire back in college (Parties, banquets, that sort of thing) and I dont think I did a single gig without someone requesting Moon River. It was one of my favorites in my bag of tricks.

So I finally got the confidence to bust out my uke in front of some friends ahwile back and within 5 minutes, wouldnt you know it, someone requested Moon River. So I smiled, reached deep into my bag of tricks……and didnt have it.

FOR SHAME! I looked here and then scoured the internet looking for a finger style arrangement and couldnt find one so I did the best I could to figure it out on the uke. I think the chords at the end could be crunchier and I’ll continue to tweak (and learn to play it cleanly heh) but this is what I have so far. Any suggestions?

Listen to Moon River by kirpuff on #SoundCloud

Also please let me know if this has already been done. I am,admittedly, not very good at computering so if theres a better arrangement out there just point me in that direction and I’ll go learn it. Thanks!

rickeymike
    Participant

Love it, kirpuff! You arranged that very well. Love the harmonies that you added. I had to turn the volume up to 100%. Don’t know if that’s my computer or the volume that you recorded but I sure would like to hear it again with the volume “pumped up”.

kirpuff
    Participant

Thanks, Rickey! And I think this take is clearer.

Listen to Moon River by kirpuff on #SoundCloud

Its amazing how every background noise that you dont notice during the day sounds like a jet engine when you’re trying to record

nthibode

I really enjoyed that @kirpuff! I love Moon River, though I’ve only learned Cynthia Lin’s chords/singing version. What do you think of her ending? I would love to learn a fingerstyle arrangement for Moon River if you’re able to share!

kirpuff
    Participant