Who is your favorite ukulele artist and why?

Home Page Forums Uke Talk Who is your favorite ukulele artist and why?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    Andrew
    Keymaster

I thought this would be a fun thread to start πŸ™‚

My favorite uke artist is Taimane b/c she is an amazing performer and an incredible musician. I’ve always been the side-man and enjoyed that role when I gig. I like to step out for my solo and then blend back in with the band πŸ™‚ So, when I watch someone like Taimane perform with such confidence, it’s inspiring. And her right hand rhythm and picking technique is insane!

lisadmh
    Participant

Hi Andrew. I was looking forward to seeing some action on this thread because I’m new to the uke and really don’t know any uke artists other than Jake, and him just barely. Considering there are no replies after 3 days, maybe a lot of other members are in the same boat.

Maybe you could post your top three and we could vote? And people could add others if they know them? I know I could use some uke mentors other than you 😊 (you’re great, but to expand my horizons you know).

The one you posted is great.

• This reply was modified 6 years, 9 months ago by lisadmh.
    chipkk

Neat question Andrew and a great way to expand our knowledge of Uke artists. I am just starting so of course found Jake Shimabukuro on YouTube. I do like his style and have spent the last two days listening to his CD’s as I traveled down the east coast and tomorrow on to TN.

Chip

ed_sanderson
    Participant

For me it’s a toss up between Jake, Taimani and James Hill. I’m going with James Hill because he’s Canadian, and because he does things with just a ukulele that everyone else needs a band or a looper pedal for.

ookulee

@ed_sanderson wow thanks for sharing that! It was a really entertaining and engaging performance, I really had fun watching that and it brought such a big smile (: I swear there were at least 5 ppl on that stage

@Andrew