How to keep the Ukulele steady when changing chords?

Home Page Forums Rock Class 101 Ukulele Lessons How to keep the Ukulele steady when changing chords?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    carlo_antoni
    Participant

Hi Andrew,
    Its been two months I started playing Ukulele and follow your lessons with
    great interest and care because you go straight to playing songs and
    melodies while teaching the basics with great clarity and simplicity,
    that’t why I subscribed to your school. But I have a question. How should
    I move or position my hand when changing chords, to overcome the
    difficulty of maintaining the instrument steady (I get mad because it
    drops all the time :-(!!), each time I have to make a move? I have to keep the knucle of the index finger permanently sliding the fretboard so the uke stay steady, otherwise I can’t do it! I saw your videos on Form 1 and Form 2 but still have this issue. I know it will come with practice I am afraid I didn’t grasp it very clearly! Thank you for your wonderful lessons!
    Antonio

• This topic was modified 6 years, 11 months ago by Andrew.
    lisadmh
    Participant

Hi Antonio. While we wait for Andrew to come to the rescue, I thought I’d add that I share this problem. Em is the worst. The uke falls every time.

Andrew
    Keymaster

Hi Antonio,

This is a great question. Here is a short video with some tips to help you. Feel free to post a video of yourself playing, and I can offer more help if this video doesn’t answer all your questions. Which, by the way, let me know if you do have questions 🙂

P.S. Here is a great article on properly holding the ukulele from our Beginner’s Course.

nodofox

Hi Andrew,

What do you think about using a strap? My uke has it and it helps me a lot!

smartinuk

Hi Andrew,